to sit or to stand?


To sit or to stand… No really…. that is a genuine question.

Me? I am shrugging my shoulders.

Like literally, I am shrugging my shoulders and mumbling ‘mmm’i-dunno” in a flashback to the communication of my teens.
Because I don’t know what to do or think.

My (nearly) 5year old, Evie came home from her kindergarten class, and exclaimed “oh my God” at the traffic on the road. I did not crash the car.. but breathed in & asked her who taught her this phrase. She told me that ALL the kids say it at Kinder. And it’s not naughty, cos so do the teachers.

Initially, we dealt with it by a simple conversation about how not-to disrespect the creator of the universe and left it be. To keep an eye on.

But then hubby and I were talking about how she is still going to be desensitized to these sayings. How she is not offended and is learning in our society, not to be. She is in danger of taking – the taking of the LORD’s name – lightly.
But what should we do?

I’ve spoken to her teachers, and asked if they could be mindful of teaching her about things like ‘good luck’, ‘bad luck’ and ‘karma’. Things that have been adopted as normal by our Godless society.
How far do I take it?

I drafted a letter, using the situation of Evie’s new phrase, to tell the parents of her class – that we are bible-believing christians. That these phrases are serious and offensive to our faith and the world’s God, and I asked them sympathise and have a conversation with their kids encouraging them to refrain from offensive terms.
Hubby looked over it and said he thought it was a good letter – well written (why… shucks.. thanks) but he had some genuine questions. I list them in his words as best I can; 

Is this something we should make a deal out of?
Should we take the stand – that perhaps causes offense to some parents? 
Should we be making this issue not a behaviour issue – but a faith issue?
Are WE coming across as religious fruitcakes – rather than letting it be the gospel which is confronting?
And if we are willing to say yes to the above questions.. is this the hill we want to die on? (I had never personally heard this phrase and got sidetracked over it for a minute or two) It means, is this even the issue worth making it all this fuss over?

This is my hubby. He is wise and smart and biblical & he is questioning me.
So now I don’t know….

Am I that fruitcake mum? Who HAS to have a conversation about Jesus with her daughter whenever she is exposed to a different worldview? I have been teased for being so in the past.
I see every conversation as a chance to get theological… am I going into overkill? Is there overkill?
I started this thought process, thinking that I do not want my children to see these phrases as ‘lesser’ swear words. I don’t want them so influenced by society that the name of the God does not register when taken in vain.
I was thinking that this is the name of my God that is taken so lightly.
That this is something I could do, to say to the parents of Evie’s kinder…
“here is a family that follows Jesus”
“We are salt and light  – to flavour you and shine on you – not the other way round.”

I wanted to make a stand, for all the times I never make a sound…

And the name of the Lord God seemed a really good place to stand on?

Now I don’t know.
Do you?

No really, I’m asking.

5 thoughts on “to sit or to stand?

  1. Nope. No stand. Imho, we correct our children and children whose parents are not present. We should not judge or correct parents. Don’t use the phrase at home and correct your child when she does. My daughter corrects her friends when they use the phrase now. Your daughter was just trying it out on you, she is not going to use it any more.

    I agree, taking God’s name lightly is not ok. Good luck, this is the first of many. You will come up with your own system of choosing your battles.

  2. So many battles! Tough questions, even tougher answers. I think it’s important to help your child develop a biblical worldview so that when they hear things outside the home, they filter it through the word and they are able to determine what’s right and what’s not. It IS so important that they have a high view of God and his name. What would be interesting is what if you just worked with her at home on the correct way to address God, the reason why, etc. and didn’t make it the “hill you die on” and instead see what happens? Maybe God will work in her heart and she will begin correcting the teachers herself? There are many ways to be a “light” I guess. Tough questions, even tougher answers.
    Would love to have you link in your parenting posts to mine on Thursdays. You have such good questions and widsom to add:) Blessings to you and yours!

  3. found you through to show them jesus —

    i think this is a stand – but maybe not in the form of a letter.

    i am a world history high school teacher in a public school. i carry the policy in my class not to “use any diety or prophet’s name in class”

    i am able to “joke” about it when kids use Oh My God – or even Jesus Christ – by asking if they would like some time to pray… or complementing them on the bravery of their faith… that usually shushes them up.

    i think there are ways to address the situation w/o the letter… as mentioned by anne — and when parents use that phrase in your HOME, you mention that you don’t use that in YOUR HOME… unfortunately we cannot always dictate those rules in areas that are out of our control 😦

    this is an opportunity for your daughter to see you confronting the world – being transformed and not conformed.

    maybe later in the walk w/ these parents you may have opportunities to share your faith and a letter now may hamper those future efforts.

  4. It sounds like it may be time to start teaching your little one about the differences between the world and the church. Paul uses this division often to talk about standards of behavior, so I use it in my home. 1Cor. 5:12 says, “What business is it of mine to judge those outside the church? Are you not to judge those inside? God will judge those outside.”
    There are many more places in Paul’s letters where he reminds the church that the people who walk in darkness are not like those who have the Light. Until they receive Christ, unbelievers are held to a different standard.
    This can be an effective way of teaching your child to pray for others and have compassion for a lost world. It can be very tricky to avoid raising a judgemental, superior child however. Much balance is needed.

Leave a Reply

